The Computerworld Honors Program
Honoring Those Who Use Information Technology to Benefit Society
Home > Leadership Awards > 2005 Morgan Stanley Leadership Award for Global Commerce

The 2005 Morgan Stanley Leadership Award
for Global Commerce

Established in 1999, The Morgan Stanley Leadership Award for Global Commerce recognizes individuals whose personal leadership has made a critical contribution to the effective use of information technology throughout the world.

"I really believe in what Tim Berners-Lee and the other great visionaries had in mind regarding the Internet in that it was supposed to be the great equalizer. It doesn't know race; it doesn't know creed; all it knows is a good idea."

- Matthew J. Szulik, April 25, 2005

Matthew J. Szulik
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer & President, Red Hat

The 2005 recipient Matthew J. Szulik, has been helping to transform early-stage technology companies into global, publicly traded firms for more than 20 years. In 1998, Szulik developed a vision that the collaborative approach of open source, coupled with a strong brand, could redistribute the economics of the technology industry from vendor to customer.

Following successful public offerings in 1999 and 2000, Szulik has led Red Hat in developing global partnerships with industry giants such as Oracle, IBM, Dell, Intel and HP to deliver technology based on open source technology - positioning it to be one of the defining technology companies of the 21st century.

As a spokesperson to industry, government and education leaders on open source computing, Szulik is passionate about improving educational opportunities for students worldwide through open source technology. He is Chairman of the Science and Technology Board for the State of North Carolina's Economic Development Board. He is also an Executive Director, and former Chairman, of the North Carolina Electronics and Information Technologies Association.

Szulik was recently recognized by CIO Magazine with its "20/20 Vision Award."

The Morgan Stanley Leadership Award
Nominating Committee:
Douglas W. McCormick
Chairman & CEO
Stratton Sclavos
Chairman, President & CEO
VeriSign Inc.

Jon Shirley
Board Director

New Members for 2006

Cristobal I. Conde
President & CEO

Fred Matteson
Fireman's Fund

Dan Morrow
Co-Founder & Principal
Jamestown Exploration Company

Steven L. Sheinheit
Executive Vice President & CIO

Matthew J. Szulik
Chairman,CEO & President
Red Hat